Posted in Good Vibes!, OOTD

Think Happy. Be Happy.

If you want to be happy, you have to be happy on purpose. When you wake up, you can’t just wait to see what kind of day you’ll have. You have to decide what kind of day you’ll have. ~ Joel Osteen

There are happy days but there are also unhappy ones. It’s true that we cannot control some things.

As for me, it’s all about my mindset. When I wake up in the morning, I always thank Him for a brand new day. For me, being able to open my eyes in the morning is a wonderful gift that is too precious to be wasted. It doesn’t deserve to be ruined by negative things and negative people. (Don’t get me wrong, I respect people who are very pessimistic. They have their own reason for it.)

No, my life isn’t perfect. It is not always sunshine. I have my own share of rainy days. But it’s not all about what happened, it’s how I respond to it. I always believe that happiness is a choice. 

#ootd

Here’s what I do…

  • Expect less. There are days that bring good news but there are also some that bring bad news. As much as I want to look forward to something great and good in everyday but it only disappoints me if things doesn’t go the way I expected. Therefore I learned to expect less and not to put a picture on my head. It is better to be surprised than to be disappointed.
  • Don’t recycle the past. Free your heart from hatred. Holding grudges brings us drama and negative vibes. When I learned to let go, something better comes my way.
  • Stop worrying. Worrying steals happiness. It prevents us from enjoying things today. I’m learning to have faith that things will work out, maybe not how I planned, but just how it’s meant to be.
  • Complain less, appreciate more. As you were reading this, think of something good that you have yet other people don’t have. You must be very blessed. In my case, I wasn’t born with a silver spoon in my mouth, my parents broke up, my sisters got pregnant at the same time at an early age… but I learned not to complain. I learned to see the beauty in everything and appreciate it.
  • Frown less, smile more. Keep smiling and one day life will get tired of upsetting you. 🙂 Smile. Why? Because it makes you attractive, it changes your mood, it relieves stress, and it helps you stay positive.

BeautyPlus_20151217180128_save

It’s not that my life has been easy, perfect or exactly as I expected. I just choose to be HAPPY and GRATEFUL no matter how it all turns out. 🙂

Thanks for reading ’til here. Think happy and be happy!

Love & blessings!

Author:

Hi, there!.. :) I'm Emz, a frustrated writer/blogger from a far-flung place of Cebu, Philippines. I love reading and writing, and if there's two things I can't live without, it would be my pen and my notebook. I have the love for food and travel. I am optimistic and I am a dreamer. Thus, Side by Side is more like me. Here are tidbits of life, inspiration, places, people and myself. Welcome to Side by Side! Thank you for dropping by. :)

7 thoughts on “Think Happy. Be Happy.

  1. Great post. Thanks for sharing. I, myself, need to remember to frown less and smile more. Not that I am sad all the time, but my face naturally rests with a frown. So when I am showing no emotions, it looks like I am frowning. I have good friends that warmed up slowly to me because they thought that i was frowning all the time, but once they got to know me, they understood. Initial perceptions are hard to kick. Again, thanks for posting.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Ron. I’m glad you like it.

      I feel you. When I was younger, I don’t smile often. I wasn’t sad, but yeah, my face is naturally frowning. Hahah, I had only few friends back then because my classmates thought I wasn’t nice.

      Thanks for dropping by.. 🙂 Hope you’ll have a great weekend!

      Like

  2. It is true that your attitude can be self-fulfilling. If you start the day angry and pessimistic your day has a way of confirming your mindset.

    People at work ask why I’m so happy most of the time. I reply, that the day has to earn my unhappiness – I’m not giving it a head start.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

