Posted in HOLIDAYS and Special days

The 51st International Eucharistic Congress

Like most Christians in Cebu, I am grateful that the 51st International Eucharistic Congress was held here.

logo

Yesterday’s Statio Orbis, which was attended by an estimated 1 million people marked the end of the IEC. Despite the erratic weather, faithful people flocked the grounds of South Road Properties in front of San Pedro Calungsod Shrine to attend the closing mass. Those people are not only from Philippines but there are some from other countries. About 1,500 priests, 200 bishops, 7 cardinals, and 13,000 delegates from 72 countries attend the celebration.

IMG_171766708109707
Facing SM Seaside City view

The mass was celebrated by (Pope Francis’ representative) Papal Legate Charles Maung Cardinal Bo of Yangon, Myanmar. Pope Francis, himself, delivered a message from Vatican via satellite, and he announced the next venue of IEC.

I’m so happy to have attended the celebration despite the weather. This kind of event is rare. The last time IEC was held in Philippines was in 1937, nearly 8 decades ago. DSC_0044

Standing for almost 3 hours…was worth it. I was with Ace and his mom.

The mass started at 4pm, but we were already there around 11am, but mind you, there were many people earlier than us.

It was a great experience to be able to attend such  meaningful event. Ace and I were thinking of saving money so we can hopefully attend the next IEC which will be held in Budapest, Hungary in 2020. (Well, hopefully.)

Here’s some of the shots we had.

DSC_0036

DSC_0033

DSC_0034

DSC_0039

DSC_0029

DSC_0038

DSC_0037

DSC_0046

DSC_0035

We were far from the altar because it was too crowded on that part. Nevertheless, the message of the mass was very clear. 🙂

 

That ends my blessed Sunday. I hope you had a blessed one, too.

Keep the faith! Love and blessings! :*

 

P.S To all IEC delegates who would be able to read this: THANK YOU for coming to Cebu!!! I hope you all arrived home safe and sound. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

Hi, there!.. :) I'm Emz, a frustrated writer/blogger from a far-flung place of Cebu, Philippines. I love reading and writing, and if there's two things I can't live without, it would be my pen and my notebook. I have the love for food and travel. I am optimistic and I am a dreamer. Thus, Side by Side is more like me. Here are tidbits of life, inspiration, places, people and myself. Welcome to Side by Side! Thank you for dropping by. :)

5 thoughts on “The 51st International Eucharistic Congress

Leave a Reply

