Posted in My Thoughts!

WIFI You Here?

My group of friends invited me for a “get-together” one time. We had not seen each other for quite sometime, so I thought it was a great idea. 

We met in a restaurant, exchanged his-hellos, took pictures to post on Instagram and Facebook so the world will know that we met again at last, and then everybody’s busy clicking and swiping their phones, uploading our photos together as well as the food.

Our “get-together” ended without even talking about our whereabouts of the days that we were not together. (Sigh.) 

It’s just so sad to think, that moments like this when we’re supposed to talk about each other are gone. In this world where WIFI is every where and we have unlimited data on our phone, physical connection is very rare.

In my country, almost all stores ,restaurants and establishments have WIFI. It is easier to get in touch with your family and friends through social media than talk to them in person.

My teacher once said that technology makes our life easier, faster and more comfortable. My own understanding that time, it should give less work. And yeah, I must have agreed.

However, in my opinion now, it makes our life even busier and stressful. It is giving us a lot of work, making us more stressed. Don’t get me wrong, I know how convenient and important is technology to us. Just sometimes, I hope we know our limit.

 

My point here is that…sometimes, I wish restaurants don’t have WIFI connection to encourage us to talk and have some quality time with our family or friends. I wish, “get-together(s)” will get it’s real purpose and not just limited to taking pictures and uploading it on social media. I wish we’ll realize that our bonding moment is more important than letting the world know our whereabouts.

That’s the reason why I admire this!

image.jpeg
Photo credit from Google Interesting Things.

Well, as usual…I’m just sayin’. 🙂

‘Til my next Monday vibration! Keep safe!

Author:

Hi, there!.. :) I'm Emz, a frustrated writer/blogger from a far-flung place of Cebu, Philippines. I love reading and writing, and if there's two things I can't live without, it would be my pen and my notebook. I have the love for food and travel. I am optimistic and I am a dreamer. Thus, Thought Diary is more like me. Here are tidbits of life, inspiration, places, people and myself. Welcome to my corner! Thank you for dropping by. :)

12 thoughts on “WIFI You Here?

  1. The old form of social media never left, we have all just decided to ignore it.

    This is where that willpower thing comes into play. I’m carrying some extra pounds around my hips so this reply is as much a kick up my own backside as anything else.

    Free Wi-Fi is pretty much everywhere. Even without it, your ‘phone will still be connected to the mobile network so data transfer is always possible. Every night, for example, I turn the data connection off from my ‘phone. No emails, social media or instant messages disturb me between climbing into bed and reading the Bible the next morning.

    It’s not the shop’s fault if you are playing on your ‘phone; just agree to put your ‘phones away after taking the initial photos and you’ll all be fine. In the same way, I must stop blaming the burger van near my house for my extra weight.

    It is possible for me not to be overweight. Just look at you, Emz. You and Ace don’t have weight problems and you have just as much access to rich food as I do.

    I met up with an old college friend a couple of months ago. We took the obligatory photos and then put our ‘phones in our pockets. We spoke for an hour or two and just ignored any noises coming from our pockets.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, Harry! I’m almost speechless. 😀

      I agree that it’s willpower.
      It’s just sad to think that among our group, I’m the only one who agrees to that idea of ignoring our phones for the sake of bonding together. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Gentle exercise and starting to count calories, whilst making sure my diet contains more fruit and vegetables. Everyone seems to want to know the latest fad to lose weight but this is the best way. I nearly three stone (fourty two pounds) doing this a few years back.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

