Posted in Just Filipino

Just Filipino | 101

Hello, everyone!!!

I’m happy to introduce to you a new category on Side by Side. It’s called Just Filipino. I’ll be sharing here 100 distinct qualities of a Filipino from positive to negative.

Let’s start here:

Filipinos (Filipino: Mga Pilipino) are a nation and ethnic group native to the Philippines that share a common Filipino culture and speak the Filipino language or one of the Philippine languages. According to the 2015 Census, there were 100,981,437 in the Philippines and about 10 million living outside the Philippines.

A number of Filipinos refer to themselves colloquially as “Pinoy” (feminine:“Pinay”), which is a slang word formed by taking the last four letters of “Filipino”and adding the diminutive suffix “-y”.

 

As mentioned, there are about 10 million Filipinos living outside the Philippines, which means they could be near you. However, most foreigners have difficulty recognizing us because we look physically similar to people from other Asian countries. So , yeah, how would you recognize a Filipino?

A tip from a friend: bring all your Asian friends to karaoke. The one who does not stop singing is the Filipino. 😀 Hahah.

 

I hope you’ll enjoy this category. I’ll see you then. 🙂

 

Author:

Hi, there!.. :) I'm Emz, a frustrated writer/blogger from a far-flung place of Cebu, Philippines. I love reading and writing, and if there's two things I can't live without, it would be my pen and my notebook. I have the love for food and travel. I am optimistic and I am a dreamer. Thus, Thought Diary is more like me. Here are tidbits of life, inspiration, places, people and myself. Welcome to my corner! Thank you for dropping by. :)

6 thoughts on “Just Filipino | 101

  1. Cool! I enjoy hearing about the lands where people live. Thank you for sharing. However, I do have one question. 100 million people in the Philippines? That is a lot of people in such a small area! Chicago has almost 2.7 million people in its 237 square mile area. Talk about living on top of each other! I look forward to hearing more about your country!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

